Years From Now - On Growing Up

We've all heard that annoying phrase: "years from now, you'll look back and laugh" or "when you're older, you'll see this isn't a big deal"

Right now, when I look back at my past, I peer so cautiously, as if I am afraid of breaking the frail threads that reach into my present and the future.
Sometimes we cant help it: I look at all the mistakes I made and try to pretend like I don't regret them. Sometimes I can see how making those mistakes made me a better person or changed my life to make so many things possible. Other times, I just avert my gaze and try not to think of how stupid I was back then.

Hey, we cant help being stupid but like someone once said to me, "being young isn't our excuse to be useless and stupid." Even if we can recover from those mistakes, wrong decisions and rash actions, doesn't mean we should get into that hole in the first place. Even if we can make more friends in college, doesn't mean we act atrociously in high school, right?

That being said, being young is a time for being stupid. Haha. I've done my share of ridiculous things that border being legal, things which totally classify me as a bitch or things that are just plain stupid.
These are the things you look back at when you're older and say with that undeniable tinge of pride, "yeah, I did a lot of crazy shit"

While I will let remember how ridiculous and stupid the things I did were, I want to make the best out of them until those regrets become useful.

So if i could go back in time and tell myself something?
It would be to live a little more, do more crazy things but always remember to be the best I can be.

No comments:

Post a Comment