College is a time of self-discovery and for many, an
opportunity to mold ourselves into the people we want to be, but who is that
exactly?
So here’s a question for you, reader: who do you want to be?
I’m not talking fame, success, money or reputation. I’m taking about what
defines you, who you are on the inside because at the end of the day, what is
what matters.
Generation Y refers to those born from the early 1980s to
the early 2000s is also known as Generation Me. Does that really sum us up?
Engrossed in Western ways and obsessed about what we are entitled to, so many
youths define themselves by the way the look, who and how many people like them
and where they spend their free time.
I was born in 1990 and as I grew older, I noticed the
difference between my seniors, my peers and my juniors. As many of you reading has
had time to decide who you are and what you stand for in college, I hope you
can ponder a few questions.
My younger sister tells me that I have to stop wearing cartoon
graphic tees regardless of how cute and funny they are.
Why are you so obsessed over how you look?
Why are you so obsessed over how you look?
My other sister dresses up like a Malaysian edition Goth and
her classmates think she’s weird and bitch about her.
Does it make you feel better to label people just because you are like everyone else?
Does it make you feel better to label people just because you are like everyone else?
My classmates ask me why I don’t wear make up.
Why are you not comfortable with the way you look naturally that you feel ugly and naked without some powders and liquids to hide what you think is a deformity?
Why are you not comfortable with the way you look naturally that you feel ugly and naked without some powders and liquids to hide what you think is a deformity?
My peers say nice guys finish last and that its not enough
to be the sweet girl next door to get a guy’s attention.
Why do you always want to be with the good looking person in the spotlight, living like YOLO when there’s that kind, nice and fun guy/girl that you get along with great?
Why do you always want to be with the good looking person in the spotlight, living like YOLO when there’s that kind, nice and fun guy/girl that you get along with great?
My friends whine about how they cant get a boyfriend or a
girlfriend because of this and that and bla bla bla. Why are you in a hurry to
date and dump?
Does the number of people you’ve dated or your relationship status make you a better person?
Does the number of people you’ve dated or your relationship status make you a better person?
People call me a nerd for carrying around novels and burying
my face in pages instead of chilling in the cinemas.
Why are you so proud of your short attention spans and that you don’t want to broaden your horizons?
Why are you so proud of your short attention spans and that you don’t want to broaden your horizons?
Some ask me why am I so boring to sit at home or just
chilling with some friends at some eatery instead of hitting up clubs.
Why cant you have a good time that doesn’t involve alcohol or doing things with strangers?
Why cant you have a good time that doesn’t involve alcohol or doing things with strangers?
Many of the people my age say they’re not gonna bother voting because they don’t involve themselves in politics.
Why do you not care about the things that do not have a direct effect on you but you will blame anyone and everyone when something sucks?
If you had to choose three words to describe yourself, what
would they be?
Do you know who you are?
Do you know who you are?
Now, if you can choose three words to describe who you want to be, what are they?
Do you know who you want to be?
If you chose awesome, YOLO, epic, popular, rich, good
looking or anything to that effect, then you probably have some thinking to do.
What does it even mean to be YOLO or epic or legendary? While it would be cool to see that on your grave stone "died from being too epic-ly legendary. YOLO" it kinda just means you do what you want whenever you want, doesn't it?
While I'm not condoning insane acts, what does it amount to? Isnt it a waste if your whole life is quantified by how many insane acts you participated in instead of how you made a positive difference?
"Remember when he/she won that beer chugging contest?" "Remember when we broke into the shopping mall?" "Remember when you rode on the top of a moving car?"
While it is cool as hell to have done these kinda things...
"He/she was the best boss I ever had" "He/She showed me I could be so much more and made me who I am today" "I remember I was so depressed that day and you actually noticed and did everything you could to make me smile."
Aspire to be more than who you are. Reach outside your comfort zones.
What does it even mean to be YOLO or epic or legendary? While it would be cool to see that on your grave stone "died from being too epic-ly legendary. YOLO" it kinda just means you do what you want whenever you want, doesn't it?
While I'm not condoning insane acts, what does it amount to? Isnt it a waste if your whole life is quantified by how many insane acts you participated in instead of how you made a positive difference?
"Remember when he/she won that beer chugging contest?" "Remember when we broke into the shopping mall?" "Remember when you rode on the top of a moving car?"
While it is cool as hell to have done these kinda things...
"He/she was the best boss I ever had" "He/She showed me I could be so much more and made me who I am today" "I remember I was so depressed that day and you actually noticed and did everything you could to make me smile."
Aspire to be more than who you are. Reach outside your comfort zones.
For me, being kind, smart and funny is enough for me. Yeah,
I know, this is the part where you accuse me of being some nerdy little virgin
girl who has never stayed out past midnight and wouldn’t know a dirty joke if
it hit me in the eye.
Well, I have news for you; the world isn’t divided into the
nerds who have no life and the party people who are out living it every night. Sure,
I’ve enjoy the attention I get from guys, I love my gadgets (a little too
much), and I admit to nights of insanity when I do things I dare not retell
even in my dreams. I’ve had a tattoo for about 6+ years, I’ve dated and dumped
my fair share of guys, and I have a bottle of alcohol in my room.
When the night is over, the guys have moved on, the bottles
are empty and the tattoos are faded, what matters is who you are underneath.
When you take away the muscles, make up, perfectly coordinated outfits, flashy
toys, YOLO friends…
If you
could write your own eulogy at your funeral, what would you say?
No comments:
Post a Comment